2012 SacTown 10 Miler Race Recap

This morning was the 2nd Annual SacTown 10 Miler. You can read my recap from last year’s race here. I don’t typically repeat many races, but I think this race is becoming a tradition. I really hope they keep this race on the smaller side. Last year there were only 530 participants and this morning there were 1300 anticipated. It is so nice to run smaller (relatively) races. 1300 people is so nice compared to 7500. The course was never crowded and it was easy to get around around before and after. I think there had to be close to 1 porta-potty per runner at the start. Okay..onto the recap.

After a solid 8 hours of sleep (I went to bed at 9:30), my alarm went off at 5:50. I like to give myself plenty of time in the morning to drink my coffee, eat my PB and banana toast, get dressed and do my business. Rushing around the morning of a race is not worth an extra 30 minutes of sleep. I stretched and foam rolled, covered most of my body in BodyGlide, and grabbed all my race essentials and headed out the door at 7:15 so Aaron could drop me off at the start.

I had plenty of time before the gun went off at 8, so I warmed up, peed, and found a spot in the sun to wait for the start. My goal for pacing was:

Mile 1-6: Strong and steady – try not to go out too fast
Mile 6-8: Start to pick up the pace a bit, but save some in the tank
Mile 8-10: Give it my all and push through

I notoriously go out too fast in races. This race was no exception. My mind tells me to hold back, but the race excitement makes me think I might be able to hold onto that pace. Two miles in my pace was around 8:57 and I was hopeful I could hold on for the next 8. But slowly between miles 2 and 5 my average slowly started to creep up.

I saw Aaron and Cash at mile 4.5 and ditched my arm warmers.

The weather was PERFECT this morning. It rained all day yesterday, so everything was clean and fresh and the sun was out and there was no breeze!

I had my Hammer Gel just after I saw the boys and got a burst of energy. I knew it would be tough, but I was determined to still try to hit my 1:30 goal. I was half way – I could do this!

As I got closer to the finish, I kept getting closer to a 9:00/mile average and I was more determined than ever to get there. I saw my mom around around mile 7 and friends just before mile 9. It is always fun to see familiar faces on the course – thanks everyone for cheering me on and for those who helped at the Girls on the Run water stop!

I have always been an endurance athlete. In Junior High I was the go-to miler on the track team (that’s long in track and field), on my competitive swim team I excelled at the 200 and 500 yard distances.  The last two miles of the 10 mile distance is where I strive – I am able to push through any pain and fatigue to get the job done. And that’s what I did!

I saw my average tick down in those last few miles to 9:03 and that’s where I finished. I forgot to stop my Garmin and the official results aren’t posted yet, but I am guessing I finished right around 1:30:40.  That is 3 minutes faster than the same race last year! I’ll take it!

Hanging out with Kellie at the Girls on the Run booth after the race.

Aaron and I immediately headed to Selland’s for Prosecco, coffee, eggs, fruit and potatoes for her and beer for him.

Very proud of my dedication to my training for this race and the race itself. Ready to keep the momentum going as I gear up for Napa2Sonoma this summer! The rest of the day includes beers, movies on the couch and Mexican food (a post-race tradition).

 

One thought on “2012 SacTown 10 Miler Race Recap

  1. bridgette says:

    Congrats! SOunds like an awesome race.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

