Staying Healthy While Traveling

I am gearing up for some major traveling in the coming weeks and months. Starting Friday, I will be traveling 16 out of 18 days. WOW. I will be traveling for work and pleasure and am looking forward to most of the trips. But I am anxious about staying healthy, gluten free and not totally blow my half marathon training. But traveling does not have to mean you have to put aside health and fitness.

Here is what I do to try to stay healthy while traveling:

  • Come prepared: Don’t assume you will be able to find the healthy food you are looking for. I always come prepared with my go-to, travel friendly snacks. Some of my favorites are; KIND bars, almonds, brown rice cakes, Justin’s nut butters in individual packets, cut up vegetables, trail mix, dried fruit.
  • Stay hydrated: The whole no liquids thing has probably lead to the dehydration of countless passengers. I often find myself wanting to boycott the $4 bottles of water just to spit them. But that doesn’t have to be the case. Bring a reusable water bottle with you. All you have to do is empty it before going through security and then you can fill it up. My favorite is Water Bobble because the bottle has a built in filter so you can fill it up in your hotel room or a sink and not worry about the water tasting nasty. If you have it, drink some coconut water the day before and day of your trip. And grab some from a grocery or convenience store when you arrive.
  • Plan to exercise: If there is any chance you might be able to exercise on your trip, even if it is in your hotel room, pack your workout clothes. I will admit, there have been plenty of times where I have packed my workout clothes and not used them. But there are even more times when I have used them and so glad I had them. Look at your schedule and try to anticipate when you might have some time to workout. Running or walking is a great way to get to know a new city. Bring a workout DVD, or find workout videos online on sites like Body Rock.
  • Research: If you are traveling to a new destination, research your surroundings. Look up restaurants with healthy menus or options that meet your dietary needs, look up running trails close by, gyms that offer day passes, yoga studios, etc. If you are trying to find somewhere heathy to eat when you are already hungry, you will be more likely to settle on the fastest and easiest thing. Have a few options in your back pocket.
  • If you are staying in a hotel, ask for a mini fridge. I did this in Florida in January and it was a lifesaver. I stocked up at the grocery store for healthy snacks and things for breakfast, so I always knew I had something on hand.

See you on the other side! What are your healthy travel tips? 

2 thoughts on “Staying Healthy While Traveling

  1. Lagos says:

    Ive never thought of this, great insight!

  2. getsetandgo says:

    I also try and do one meal a day of the local fruits and salads only….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

