Traveling Takes a Toll

Being a creature of habit who thrives on routine, traveling takes a toll on my energy levels, training, diet and overall sanity. But I love traveling, so it is all worth it. The past couple weeks have been non-stop travel and have worn me out. But they have been super fun as well, so I thought I would recap.

Before I left on my trips, the first thing I packed was my goodie bags of gluten-free snacks. GF oats, KIND Bars, GF pretzels, almonds, individual packets of peanut butter. These rations saved my stomach and my mood a handful of times. They also saved some of my travel buddy’s as well.

image

The first stop was Palm Springs for a Bachelorette party. Lots of girl time, pool time and drink time ensued.

image

image

image

image

Less than 12 hours after returning from Palm Springs, it was off to Florida for a mix of work and fun. Right off the plane, we headed to Four Rivers Smokehouse for their famous BBQ. I managed to get one short run (2.5 miles) in while in Florida, but the late nights, heat and humidity made a second run just not possible.

image

Go Kart racing was fun and intense – 10 competitive people racing against each other can get hairy.

image

Mini golf at Disney World, on the other hand – not so intense. But equally as fun and hot!

image

And more pool time

image

And just a few hours after returning to Florida – it was off to San Diego to see friends.

image

I went to Balboa Park for a scenic 3 miler and it felt so nice to run in cooler temps.

image

image

Best menu innovation I have seen in a  long time – Roulette Wings. 9 regular hot wings – one really f-ing hot wing. You don’t know which is which. Aaron, our friend Joey and I played and Joey “won”. It got down to the last two wings and we were all so nervous. Joey took the wing like a man, but said it was definitely one of the hottest things he’s ever eaten. We loved the concept, though, and will implement our own version and future parties, for sure.

image

I also found the most amazing sunglasses in San Diego for $5. Fake Ray Bans with an attached mustache. They had different style stashes and they were a huge hit! The cigar is just for show.

image

image

We couldn’t go to San Diego without hitting up Ramone’s – Aaron’s favorite Mexican food spot in the world and the thing he might miss the most about living in San Diego.

image

image

And then the long drive back from San Diego, with a pit stop to visit Aaron’s gramma.

image

image

It sure is nice to be home – leaving really makes you appreciate what you have, doesn’t it?

One thought on “Traveling Takes a Toll

  1. The mustache sunglasses are my favorite part of this post – so cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

