On The Road Again

After a few days off from exercising, it is always tough to get back into my routine. Since most of the time I have such a set routine, once it gets thrown off, things can easily get out of hand quickly. I returned Sunday night from a long weekend with girlfriends and while I had intentions of going for a couple runs, relaxing and lounging by the pool quickly took over.

After catching up on rest on Monday, I knew I had to get back on track today. Since my last half marathon in April, I have only been running about one day a week and spending more time in the gym. This morning I decided to get outside and hit the road for a morning run and it was the perfect way to get back into my routine.

There is something special about being out on a run before most people are even awake. The fresh air wakes me up so much more than just going through the motions at the gym. After vacation, a part of me always wants to stay in vacation mode (lots of food and lounging around), but once I get back to my healthy habits, it feels so good!

I am planning to run my own half marathon in August since my planned race has already sold out, so hopefully I will be out on more morning runs to prepare!

One thought on “On The Road Again

  1. Carlye says:

    I LOVE this! I am so down to pick our own course and start time!

Leave a Reply

