Girls on the Run



I wanted to take a little time to tell you all about an organization that I have volunteered for in the past that I think you all will love. It is Girls on the Run. GOTR is a life-changing, non-profit prevention program that encourages preteen girls to develop self-respect and healthy lifestyles through running and training for a 5K event. The curriculum addresses all aspects of girls’ development – physical, emotional, mental, social and spiritual well-being.


After reading about the program on Kath’s blog, I decided to look into programs in San Diego. This past spring I volunteered as a head coach for a site that had 40 girls participating. It was a challenging, yet amazing experience. I truly believe in the power that running and fitness in general can have on women of all ages. Seeing the change in the girls after just 24 practices and one race reinforced this belief. I was so honored to be a part of their experience and look forward to participating again. When Aaron and I were planning our move, I made sure to research where sites were located in the area. Depending when to move happens, I hope to be able to participate in Sacramento.


If you believe in the power of fitness and want to make an impact in young women, I cannot think of a better organization to get involved with. Go GOTR!


DSCN0691


DSCN0917


DSCN0921

3 thoughts on “Girls on the Run

  1. What an awesome way to get involved! I’ve been looking into getting into GOTR! Thanks for the info

  2. […] coach at a school in San Diego last spring and it was the coolest experience ever. I wrote about it here (it was pre-blog). Since we moved my schedule has not allowed me to coach, so I am happy to be able […]

Leave a Reply

