Early Bird Gets the Worm



This week I was reminded why I prefer morning workouts, so I thought I would talk about it with all of you. I have not always been a morning person. Growing up I would sleep in until noon whenever I had the chance. Once I went to college I turned into this person who could not sleep in and could not take naps. So while the rest of the University of Colorado was sleeping in and napping, I was wide awake.


Now I really enjoy getting up early and getting my day started. Most days I like to start my day with a workout. Granted, my 5AM wake up call during the week is not ideal, but I really prefer exercising in the morning. Here are some reasons why:


I get it over with. Without fail, whenever I decide to sleep in and workout in the evening after work, something comes up and I have to skip my evening workout. I have never had anyone try to make plans with me at 5:30 in the morning, so I rarely have to reschedule my morning sessions.


It wakes me up: Working out gets your blood flowing and gets oxygen to your brain. Even is I am SO tired when I wake up, once I hit the gym I am ready for my day.


I eat better during the day: Personally, my diet is very much affected by my workouts. If I am not working out I have less will power to avoid temptations. If I am tempted by office snacks or unhealthy lunch options, I remember waking up at the crack of dawn and do not want to waste all that effort on an unhealthy snack.


I don’t lose anytime with family or friends: Working out in the morning leaves me free to do whatever I want in the evenings. That might be sitting on the couch doing nothing, or it could be happy hour or dinner with friends. I get time to myself in the morning and then can focus on other people in the evening.


The gym is less crowded: There have been times I have showed up to the gym at 5:30 after work and walked out after 5 minutes. The crowds after work make it so frustrating and sometimes impossible to do the workout you want. Early in the morning you can have your pick of almost any machine or set of weights!


Of course, I strongly believe that you should do whatever works for you. Morning workouts work for me, but I know plenty of people who would never trade their evening exercise. When do you prefer to workout?


2 thoughts on “Early Bird Gets the Worm

  1. I definitely agree with all of the reasons you listed as to why I prefer morning workouts! it just starts the day off on the right foot and puts me in a great mood 🙂

  2. Shelley says:

    I struggle with waking up early and being a morning person. However, my evening workout routine is no longer working for me so these tips are just what I needed to get motivated for morning workouts.

Leave a Reply

