Playing With Food



When you are a grown up it is completely acceptable, and encouraged to play with your food! As you know, a few nights ago I made a big batch of roasted vegetables and have been eating them over quinoa pasta for a few days. As delicious as that meal was, after three times, I was ready to mix it up. And mix it up I did – in the food processor!


I decided to turn my roasted vegetables into soup! I reheated the veggies with some vegetable broth, fresh zucchini and onion. Once the onion and zucchini had softened, I buzzed it up in the food processor until it was the consistency I wanted. Then I just drizzled it with olive oil and enjoyed with a salad!


Before

Before




After

After




The soup was really good. Thick and creamy. The consistency would also make this a great topper for fish or meat, or over pasta.


I will be doing a lot more experimenting and eating different things in the next week or so because we are moving and I want to use up all the things in the fridge and freezer. I took inventory and here is what there is:


– Veggie burgers
– Vegetarian chili (freezer)
– Milk
– Bananas
– Greek Yogurt
– Red bell pepper
– Broccoli
– Apples
– Eggs


I feel some stir fry, pancakes, cereal and chili dinners in my future. Can’t wait!


One thought on “Playing With Food

  1. yummm im glad the weather’s starting to get cooler so i can enjoy my favorite soups again! that sounds delish! happy friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

