A Whole ‘Nother Kind of Fitness



Since discovering our new gym has a swimming pool, I have been meaning to get in the pool and do some laps. I love swimming and swam competitively from the age 4 through high school and also played waterpolo in high school. I remember when I was young I thought swimming was so easy. I now realize that it is not at all easy. I may be able to run for hours, but this morning after 15 minutes of swimming I was beat – and I loved it!


This morning’s workout included 25 minutes of cardio, 15 minutes of upper body weights (bicep curls, lateral raises, flyes, tricep extensions), and then 700 yards of swimming. For my swim, I decided to take it easy since I haven’t swam for quite sometime.


I warmed up with 200 yards easy, then did one set of 10 x 50 yards on 1 minute intervals.


I remember the good ole days when this set would just be a small part of a much longer workout. I look forward to building my endurance in the pool and think adding swimming to my routine will be a great form of cross training to incorporate into my running schedule. As you know, I am a big fan of mixing things up and hope swimming will keep my workouts fresh and new. Next time I might save the upper body strength training for AFTER my swim or another day – I think that might have made my arms turn to jello faster.


Are there any new sports you are trying to add to your regular routine?


2 thoughts on “A Whole ‘Nother Kind of Fitness

  1. Lisa says:

    Remember when we did dance classes in 9th grade instead of going to winter swimming? So fun! Have you tried zumba? I want to try it.

  2. modernation says:

    I haven’t tried it but I want to. My gym didn’t have it in SD but the one I go to now does. So I might have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

