Life’s Simple Pleasures



Sometimes it is the little things in life that I enjoy the most – good food, wine, trips to the farmers market, and a full DVR are just some of the things that bring a smile to my face. It doesn’t take much to make me happy, and last night was a perfect example. One of my favorite meals is steamed clams and mussels but I have only made them at home once because the shellfish can be expensive and such a pain to clean. I usually save it for restaurant meals. But not anymore!


Enter Trader Joe’s Steamer Clams.


DSCN2468


My Dad told me about these a couple weeks ago and the next day I searched them out. I was home alone last night because I didn’t make the 3 hour round trip drive to Aaron’s football game (that they won 47-6, BTW!). I wanted something easy but tasty for dinner and thought these steamers would be perfect.


I cannot believe how genius Trader Joe’s is sometimes. All I had to do was put the frozen clams in the pot, put the lid on and let them cook for 8 minutes. The ingredients? Just clams, butter, garlic, corn starch, lemon, herbs, and parsley. I ate the whole thing which was about 45 clams and sauce for just over 200 calories, less than 10 grams of fat, and over 20 grams of protein.


DSCN2471


Complete with a green salad with blue cheese and a glass of Sauvignon Blanc, it was like a restaurant meal at home. The best part? I was in my sweats and the whole meal cost about $7. That wouldn’t even cover my wine at a restaurant.


DSCN2497


I was a happy camper after this meal and the TJ Steamers will definitely be a staple in our freezer. Crossing my fingers they come out with a version with mussels soon!


2 thoughts on “Life’s Simple Pleasures

  1. Carlye says:

    I don’t even care for clams but you made them sound so delicious here that I am just going to have to look for them at Joe’s next time. Besides, I am sure Husband will handle them if I don’t like them. Your photos make me hungry!

    • modernation says:

      They are so good and so genius to take something that is such a pain to make and do all the work for us. They are only like $4.50, so they are worth a shot. You can always just dip bread in the broth!

Leave a Reply

