Blogger Secret Ingredient Recipe



I am participating in my first Blogger Secret Ingredient contest this week thanks to Caitlin. This week’s ingredient was Pancake Mix. I generally use pancake mix for its traditional use, but was inspired by this challenge. One of my favorite, semi-healthy desserts is apple crisp. So that was the direction I chose for the BSI contest. I love baking items that don’t require a ton of ingredients or precise measuring because I am much more of a cook than a baker.


Multigrain Oatmeal Apple Crisp
1/3 cup multigrain pancake mix
1/3 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup unpacked brown sugar plus 2 TB
1 large crisp apple such as Fuji
1 tspn ground cinnamon
2 TB cold butter
Cooking spray


All the ingredients you need

All the ingredients you need




1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. Combine pancake mix and oats in mixing bowl. A brown sugar and cinnamon. Stir lightly.
3. Add butter in pieces to mixture. Use fork to combine butter into oat and pancake mixture until an even, sandy texture is reached.


DSCN2528


4. Thinly slice apple and toss with a dash of cinnamon and 2 TB brown sugar.


DSCN2530


5. Coat 9” x 9” baking dish with cooking spray. Layer apple slices in baking dish. Top with pancake and oat mixture.


DSCN2532


6. Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes until topping is crisp and apples tender


DSCN2536


Serves 4


Serve warm on its own or topped with plain yogurt, ice cream or whipped cream. I had mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Thank you Caitlin for letting my enjoy this delicious dessert tonight! It seriously tastes exactly like French Apple Pie but is much healthier than the traditional version. One serving of this version has just 150 calories and is full of whole grains and fiber and just a little bit of butter – real butter! Which we all know makes everything taste better. One slice of french apple pie has 330 calories and 14 grams of fat.


DSCN2539


5 thoughts on “Blogger Secret Ingredient Recipe

  1. Mish says:

    I need to step up my game.

  2. Sheri says:

    I saw your recipe on Caitlin’s site. This looks yummy! I can’t wait to try it out!!

  3. I said it a while when you made Moja Mix pancakes for the first time, I agree with you here, and so I will say it again: butter does make everything better. 🙂 Something I’ve been pondering – how do you calculate the caloric content of recipes (or foods or anything) that you come up with on your own? Do you use Calorie King or what?

Leave a Reply

