Reunited Again



A long lost friend and I were reunited yesterday afternoon. I used to spend 8 hours straight with this friend on certain days. I have felt so guilty that I have neglected this dear friend and finally made time to catch up. Who is this friend? My beautiful road bike!


DSCN2633


I purchased this bike a few years ago when I was training for my first triathlon. While I had experience swimming and running, I had never been on a road bike. But I jumped in feet first and discovered that I LOVED cycling. Before I was finished training for my tri, I committed to myself that the following summer I would ride in America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride – a 100 mile century ride around Lake Tahoe. And I did just that! It was one of the best experiences of my life.


Training for the century ride, I fell in love with cycling even more and became incredibly comfortable on the bike. In my mind I thought I would continue riding consistently after the race, but I didn’t. I was so used to riding with my training group and am always a little uneasy when out on long rides by myself. I am making it a goal to not neglect my bike anymore and spend some quality time with her at least once a week (weather permitting).


Yesterday I set out for an hour ride, but cut it short after 45 minutes. It was so WINDY that I found myself at almost a complete stop while riding DOWNHILL. Plus, it was also a long time since my ass rear end had been reunited with my bike seat, so I think 45 minutes was plenty of time for them to spend together! 🙂


DSCN2637


I am 2 for 2 so far this week on hitting my goal of fitting in fitness everyday this week. Two down, three to go!


2 thoughts on “Reunited Again

  1. Mish says:

    good on you for getting yourself back in the saddle. I am training for a mini-tri and I LOVE the variety of it all. I love cycling and I am excited to be participating in one weeks time. Can you sign-up for a tri again?

Leave a Reply

