Giving Thanks All Month Long



November is all about the start of the holiday season. Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because it is all about PRESENCE not PRESENTS. While I love Christmas and giving and receiving gifts, I just love being with the whole family on Thanksgiving. Inspired by Megan’s series on things she is thankful for, I thought I would do the same thing.


Things I am thankful for #1 – My Health


I am thankful for my health because my health is what lets me enjoy all of the other things and people in my life I am thankful for. I also have learned how quickly your health can be taken away from you and the ones you love. I want to cherish my body and treat it the way it should be treated so that I can have this body for a long, long time. You should do the same!


This is so much easier said than done. I have not always taken the best care of my body. In college, I let spending time with friends and partying take priority. I didn’t want to miss out on fun with friends because I was on a run or in the gym. Looking back, I now know that I would have been able to better enjoy those times if I was in tip top shape. I also might have had more energy for studying – maybe ;).


After college, adjusting to a 9-5 job was a whole ‘nother ball game. I had never lived a sedentary lifestyle. Working a desk job was also tough because I was used to have a student’s schedule with chunks of time during the day that I could devote to exercise. It took while for me to get a routine down that worked for my new lifestyle. What worked for me was morning workouts – and I haven’t looked back since.


I have always loved food, and it has become a passion of mine to make healthy, budget-friendly, delicious food. I want people to know how important what you put in your body is – it directly affects your performance in all areas of your life more than anything else you do. Fuel your body with what it needs!


Cherish your body and appreciate all that it allows you to do! Putting yourself and your health first means you will be better at everything you do. You will be a better friend, lover, employee, and member of your community.


I will be periodically posting things that I am thankful for throughout the month, so stay tuned!


One thought on “Giving Thanks All Month Long

  1. […] get me wrong, I am so grateful for everything that my body can do and I am blessed that I have my health, but ever since I tore my hip flexors in high school my body feels older than it should. I know a […]

Leave a Reply

