Two New Recipes This Week



While I have not been good about posting all of the new recipes, I have been sticking to my goal of trying new recipes for dinner at least once a week. Every one has been a success and I am having fun trying to new dishes or new spins on some of our favorites. So far here are the dishes I have tried:


Sausage and Red Pepper Calzones
Chicken Rolatini
Stuffed and Grilled Pabalno Peppers
Buttermilk Brined Pork Chops


This week I came up with two new recipes. One I just made up and one was an actual recipe I followed.


The first was Chicken Panzanella, a mix of tomatoes, basil, red onion, grilled chicken, fresh mozzarella, and crusty Italian bread that I cut into cubes in the morning and let get nice and crunchy. I combined and dressed all the ingredients (minus the bread) in an olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette and let it set in the fridge for about 20-30 minutes. I tossed the cubes of bread in olive oil, salt and pepper and toasted them in the oven for extra flavor and texture. Just before serving, add the bread to the salad, toss and serve.


YUM! This was an easy, weeknight dinner.


The other recipe was for Chicken Tortilla Soup that I found on This Week For Dinner. I love tortilla soup and it is a healthy meal full of lots of veggies. I followed the recipe below but used the crock pot and let the soup cook for 6 hours. So yummy!


– 1 onion, finely chopped
– olive oil
– 2 green onions, chopped
– 4 cloves garlic, minced
– 8 cups chicken broth
– 2-3 tomatoes, chopped
– ½ bag frozen corn
– 1 large chicken breast
– 1 can black beans, drained & rinsed
– 1 lime (one extra for garnish)
– 1 handful cilantro, chopped
– 4-5 corn tortillas, cut into strips
– 1 avocado, diced
– cayenne pepper
– chili powder
– cumin
– salt and pepper
– cheddar or jack cheese, shredded
– sour cream


Sautee onion in olive oil until soft, then add garlic, green onions, cayenne, chili powder, and cumin. Sautee until fragrant (a minute or two). Add chicken broth. Bring to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer. Add tomatoes, corn, black beans.


Grill up chicken spiced with cayenne, chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper. (You can also pan-fry it, but it won’t add the smokiness that the bbq does). Cut up or shred chicken and add it to the soup. Try the soup and add more seasonings according to taste, if needed. Add lime juice, cilantro, and avocado.


In large fry pan over medium-high heat, crisp up tortilla strips. Add salt. You may do this with oil or cooking spray. (For a shortcut, use tortilla chips instead).


Serve soup garnished with cheese, sour cream, tortilla strips, fresh cilantro, and a lime wedge.


DSCN2700


3 thoughts on “Two New Recipes This Week

  1. Jesse says:

    Your Panzanella recipe sound really good … I’m making Chicken Tortilla Soup this weekend in my crockpot, its a little different than the recipe you posted above but I’m pretty excited to try it out since it’s a recipe my mom gave me. I might have to try the one you posted next! There is something about fall time that just screams SOUP! I love it.

    • modernation says:

      This was the first recipe I used and know there are a lot. Just had leftovers and it’s still delicious! I will probably play around with some others too. Nothing like soups in the fall/winter. And the corckpot is also great for hearty fall meals. Yum!

  2. […] car) and Aaron was hungry for dinner. He took the dog for a walk while I made dinner. I made chicken panzanella. As I was in the quiet kitchen, I found myself in this unfamiliar calm that I had not felt for 24 […]

Leave a Reply

