Sometimes Rest Is Best



Sometimes I feel like there is always something little nagging at my body. Don’t get me wrong, I am so grateful for everything that my body can do and I am blessed that I have my health, but ever since I tore my hip flexors in high school my body feels older than it should. I know a lot of this is my fault for not stretching enough – something I am always striving to improve on.


This last week or so I have been feeling symptoms of plantar fasciitis and it has been driving me crazy! It started with a tiny pain in my heel and I figured I stepped on something and had bruised my heel. Then it started to get worse and was a sharp and constant pain in and around my heel. Sleeping on my side, my heels touching was so painful that it woke me up early one morning. I have a very high tolerance for pain and am a very deep sleeper, so I knew something was up.


I have learned the hard way that above all else, you need to listen to your body. If sleeping and walking around the house hurts, there is no way I am going to force my foot into a running shoe and pound the pavement. As much as I have been craving exercise this week, I have been laying low in the hopes that this pain goes away. I went on a 30 mile bike ride in order to get in a workout without putting any impact on my heel.


Since I have been resting, my appetite has been affected as well. I have not been very hungry and found myself snacking throughout the day because I knew my body needed fuel, even if I wasn’t working out. I was kind of surprised because I have never really considered myself an intuitive eater. When it is breakfast time, or lunch, or dinner, I eat. If I am happy, sad, tired or sick, I usually eat. So this week has been an interesting development for me and my eating style. One day I snacked on sliced turkey, cheese, crackers and an apple. I felt like I was in 3rd grade, but it was what sounded good and did the trick. Another day was popcorn and grapes. Not the most well-rounded meals, but I managed to always have a nice home-cooked, complete dinner each day.


Sometimes, rest is best. Our bodies are amazingly efficient and intelligent machines and when my body speaks, I listen. I plan to continue to listen to my body and my appetite and get back to my regular workout routine Monday morning assuming I get the OK from my body.

One thought on “Sometimes Rest Is Best

  1. Mish says:

    When I was binging and working out —or trying to–all the time I never out rest into my schedules when I was trying to lose weight. However, now with a much better approach to everything I have and appreciate the idea of rest in my schedule. honestly, it’s what you need sometimes. I was planning out my tri training schedule today and I went back through it and said to myself–you need a day of rest every week. So I did. I put smiley faces on them..cause I am gonna enjoy every minutes of them.

Leave a Reply

