Giving Thanks to Technology



You may have noticed that many of my posts on things I am thankful for are not always the standard responses you may expect to hear. I want to point out that these items are in no particular order and are based on things that come to mind on a given day I am writing the post. I also want to preface it with the fact that I am absolutely more thankful than words could express for my dear friends, family, my boyfriend, my cat, living in America and all those wonderful things that I know I often take for granted.


That being said, today I am giving thanks for technology. Technology makes so many things possible that we don’t even think about. I spend most of my days in front of my laptop which makes it possible for me to do my job, find my way around town, and read all your wonderful blogs and Tweets.


What I am most thankful for is the power of technology to connect people. Since I recently moved to Sacramento, I gained being close to my family, but I also left some truly dear friends in San Diego. Yesterday I got a Skype chat from one of my best friends Carlye that said, “Pants (my nickname), you got a sec?” Of course I said yes and then I got a Skype Video call from her, and what did I see? Two of the loves of my lifes’ faces on my computer screen – Carlye and Elena. I was mortified by the fact that I was in my glasses and sweats (the joy and horror of working from home), but was so thrilled to see their faces and hear their voices.


My best friends are scattered across the country and the world, but I am so thankful to be able to stay close with them through the magical powers of technology. While it cannot replace face time, I will take what I can get!


I love you, my dear friends – and THANK YOU technology for making it possible for me to keep in touch with them!


Speaking of technology, make sure to keep track of the exciting things Carlye and Elena are up to planning green events at Elle Events and follow them on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

