Who Needs Cheese?



Today I continued my exploration into veganism in honor of Katy and Michelle’s Vegan 4 a Week Challenge. Today’s vegan recipe centered around Acorn Squash! Behold, Vegan Stuffed Acorn Squash.


Ingredients
1 acorn squash
1/2 cup dried whole wheat couscous
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1 handful fresh spinach
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 small zucchini, cut into half-moon slices
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1/4 cup dried cranberries
Agave nectar
Olive oil
Salt and Pepper





1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. Halve the acorn squash and remove seeds (NOTE: save the seeds for bonus recipe to follow)





3. Drizzle squash halves with agave nectar and season with salt and pepper. Roast for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.
4. While squash cooks, cook couscous according to package directions.
5. In a separate saucepan, saute zucchini and garlic with a small amount of olive oil for 7 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients, including the cooked couscous and season to taste. Set aside.





6. Remove squash from oven and pour out any liquid that has pooled in the squash. Fill each half with an even amount of filling and return to the oven for an additional 10 minutes.








BONUS RECIPE: Roasted Acorn Squash Seeds
Rinse and dry acorn squash seeds. Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray and spread seeds evening on the sheet. Toss with olive oil and salt and pepper and roast at 400 degrees for 10 minutes until golden brown.





Normally I would add cheese to this mixture because I believe that most things are better with cheese. Since this was a vegan recipe, I knew this wasn’t an option and I thought I would miss the cheese, but I didn’t! The flavors were really great and the squash had a perfect texture. The acorn squash seeds were awesome!


Tomorrow I will be discussing my thoughts on veganism and if making the switch to veganism is in my future. SPOILER ALLERT: It isn’t! But I will discuss why tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “Who Needs Cheese?

  1. Mish says:

    Can I come over to your house…I am sorry it looks to tasty.

  2. […] Stuffed Acorn Squash–YUMM! ~Amanda@Modernation […]

  3. Carlye says:

    I am making these today for lunch! I have to say I am going to add some goat cheese crumbles on the top at the last minute. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

