My Thoughts on Being Vegan for a Week(ish)



As you know, I have been dabbling in veganism this week. I wanted to share my thoughts on my experience and veganism as a whole. Veganism is defined as

A diet and lifestyle that seeks to exclude the use of animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose. Vegans endeavor not to use or consume animal products of any kind. The most common reasons for becoming a vegan are ethical commitment or moral conviction concerning animal rights, the environment, human health, and spiritual or religious concerns.

I have enjoyed exploring the vegan lifestyle this week, but I will not be making the switch to veganism. The meals I made were absolutely delicious and I do enjoy vegan meals from time to time. At the same time, I also enjoy all other types of meals just as much. I am a foodie – I just love everything about food. I do not like to limit myself or restrict my eating too much because when I do, it takes some of the joy out of eating. I completely admire and support all the vegans out there, but I won’t be joining you!


My food philosophy is best described through the words of the all-knowing Michael Pollan:

Eat Food. Not Too Much. Mostly Plants.

I eat a diet that revolves around vegetables and whole grains, but I am not going to turn down a perfectly cooked steak, either! I want to be able to enjoy whatever food I may be craving. If I go to a restaurant famous for fish, I want to eat the fish to see what the hype is all about! I try my hardest to find sustainable and humane sources and am willing to pay extra to know where my food came from and how it got to my plate.


I will be honest – it really all comes down to the cheese. I realized this week that I eat cheese at least once a day and I could eat great cheese and bread till I burst! I think it would be easier for me to give up meat than cheese.


Okay – enough about my love of cheese. Thank you to Katy and Michelle for sharing this challenge with all of us and opening our eyes and our stomachs to another food philosophy.


Could you or would you ever go vegan?


2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Being Vegan for a Week(ish)

  1. My thoughts are similar to yours – I love vegan meals, but I also love cheese, yogurt and some meats. It’s really important to me to buy meat/dairy from local/ethical sources, and I try my hardest! πŸ™‚

  2. Diana says:

    Neat! My eating style is pretty much the same as yours! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

