On Air Again



On Friday I was interviewed for the second time for local news. The first time was back in August where I went on air to promote a local event on the morning news in San Diego. That segment was live, which really freaked me out.


As you may remember, on Thanksgiving I wore an Operation Beautiful note on my back (mom did too) and was stopped by a local news reporter who wanted to do a story. I said it would be great. I told Caitlin immediately and we were so excited. After some scheduling conflicts, the reporter came over Friday morning to interview me. They are currently editing the piece and it should be on air Monday morning. I will be sure to post the link (if I am not too embarrassed). I have been suffering from a pretty gnarly cold this week, so I am sure my voice will be a little nasaly! To keep myself in the right frame of mind, I wrote myself an OB note to read while getting ready.





Start to finish, the interview took about 30 minutes. Wendy asked me what drew me to Operation Beautiful. I will share with you what I told her – OB is so great because it is so easy to participate. All you need is something to write with, something to write on and something to say. We all have those three ingredients. The message of positive body image is so important. The young girls today need us to model positive body image because if we don’t, neither will they. There is so much more that I could say here, but I don’t want to get up on my soap box. Just know that everything you do and say impacts the impressionable minds around you – whether you think it does or not!





The first half of the interview, I realized that I completely forgot to smile while I was talking. It feels so unnatural, but I know how bad it looks on camera if you don’t do it. Let’s hope the edit those parts out so I don’t look too mean. Wendy also interviewed another local girl who participates in Operation Beautiful, so it will be great to see how it all comes together. Stay tuned and make sure to check out Operation Beautiful and participate!


4 thoughts on “On Air Again

  1. Jess says:

    That’s so awesome! I bet Caitlin is so excited about this as are you! Please let us know when it airs or if you’ll have a link for it:)

  2. Mish says:

    That is SO awesome. Congrats!

  3. caitlin says:

    yay you did great! i cant wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

