Breakfast on the Go



I leave for work around 7:20 in the morning and have been having a hard time figuring out how to eat breakfast and get out the door on time. It is especially hard when I workout early in the morning. I have been eating oatmeal in the car, or settling for Luna bars. I feel so much more satisfied when I eat something homemade for breakfast.


The solution? I had the idea to make muffins. I really never make muffins because, guess what? I don’t have a muffin tin! Since I was heading over to my parents’ house this afternoon, I remembered to grab one of their tins on my way out. Gotta love “borrowing” kitchen tools from the parents. I decided to use what I had on hand to make muffins. The base was the Multigrain Baking and Pancake Mix I used to make my pancakes. There are recipes on the box for waffles, bread and biscuits, so I thought muffins wouldn’t be too much of a stretch. I didn’t follow a recipe but here is pretty much how it went down:





2 cups multigrain baking mix
1 cup old fashioned oats
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon agave nectar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
dash of baking soda (just to help them rise)
1 cup frozen blueberries


Bake for 15 minutes (or until golden brown) at 350 degrees.


The results: They look like muffins! And they taste good, too! They are chalk full of blueberries, have about 115 calories each and lots of fiber. Grabbing a couple of these on my way out the door will be much easier to eat than oatmeal while driving (shame on me), and much more satisfying than a packaged granola bar.


6 thoughts on “Breakfast on the Go

  1. Lisa says:

    mmm… looks tasty! I’ll have to stop by and grab one when I’m home next week! PS – I have a good recipe for oat bran blueberry muffins from scratch if you ever want to try it out. It’s super healthy and tasty (I’ve even gotten Bruce to eat them), and really not hard to make. Glad you’re done being sick – I had the “swine” so I know how you feel, took me like a full month after to have enough energy to go for a run!

  2. Those muffins look awesome! Oh yes, it’s so nice being able to “borrow” stuff from mom and dad πŸ™‚

  3. […] to go to work for the day. In between my two cups of coffee I did have time to make a batch of my easy blueberry muffins. I enjoyed two with some greek yogurt for breakfast. I am going to miss Cash so much today. I was […]

  4. Made these on Sunday and they turned out pretty good. Next time I think I’ll have to add a bit of flour and bake a couple of minutes longer to accommodate for the high altitude here in Denver. I took them to a brunch and people were passing on them until I said, “they’re only 115 calories!” and then they went like bacon-infused hotcakes. πŸ™‚

  5. […] enjoy it with. Easter brunch was a success! The menu included: – Bagels and cream cheese – My multi-grain blueberry muffins – Cinnamon rolls – Spinach, tomato and goat cheese frittata – Bacon, caramelized onion and cheese […]

  6. […] I love Trader Joe’s Multigrain Pancake and Baking Mix. It is the same I use for my quick blueberry muffins. You really don’t have to add much to it for it to taste good. But you can add anything! […]

Leave a Reply

