Lonely Runner Seeks Great Race



This is my personal ad that I am putting out there to attract a great race. I have had my heart broken by the last two races I was really set on. They both sold out over six months before race day. The first time was this summer when my Triple Crown Dreams were crushed. That actually worked out to be a blessing in disguise because I wound up having some hip issues in the months leading up to the race and I wasn’t able to fully train for the race anyway.


Since moving to Sacramento, I have been trying to find a race to put on my calendar. Having a race on the books helps me with motivation and I really love racing because I am competitive by nature. I have always wanted to do the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon. Why? Duh! It combines two of my loves – wine and running.


I put the race entry on my Christmas list because it is expensive and last year’s race sold out in January. Yes, a mid-July race sells out in January! Well, today I went to the website and guess what? It is already sold out. 8 months before the race! Registration opened in the middle of November, and by the middle of December the 3,000 entries were gone! I am once again out of luck for another race I had my heart set on. I have added my name to the waitlist lottery list and will be crossing my fingers for the next 8 months.


There is a moral to this story. If you really want something, go and get it. I need to learn that things I really want, especially those that benefit my health and fitness are worth paying money for. I always struggle with spending money on things like running shoes, workout clothes and race entries. But I know from experience that all those things are worth every single penny! I just need to remind myself of this more often! Wine Country Half 2011, I am ready for you! I will register the very first day!


2 thoughts on “Lonely Runner Seeks Great Race

  1. Jill Holliday says:

    Hey, suggest that they do a “standby” like the airlines, surely someone will bail before the actual event!

  2. […] I have always wanted to run the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon.  But it sells out SO quickly.  Registration opened today and by 4 this afternoon I received an email that it was already 75% full.  I don’t know if it was a marketing ploy, but it worked!  I have written about this race selling out before I had time to register before. […]

Leave a Reply

