Oats Benedict



When it comes to breakfast, are you more of a sweet or savory person? I am hands down a savory kind of girl. I cannot eat just a plate of pancakes or french toast. I would take a bagel and lox over something sweet any day and Eggs Benedict is one of my favorite breakfast splurges.


This morning I was craving oatmeal and eggs, so I decided to combine them and make oatmeal benedict. Holy yum! Here’s what was included and how it went down.


– 1/2 cup oats
– 1 cup water
– 1 egg
– 1/4 cup tomato sauce
– chopped fresh basil
– 1 oz. sharp white cheddar cheese
– salt and pepper
– olive oil


I cooked the oats like normal. When the oats were almost done cooking, I cracked the egg in the oats and covered to let it poach. When the egg whites were set, I transferred the oats and egg to a bowl, sprinkled with salt and pepper, drizzled with olive oil, tomato sauce, cheese and fresh bail.





It tasted so good. So satisfying and fresh. It gave my oats a whole new feeling than my normal peanut butter, fruit and granola combo. This could be a really tasty and quick lunch or dinner, too! Seiously – try this!


2 thoughts on “Oats Benedict

  1. You are so creative – this is a really good idea. I am a big breakfast person so love both sweet and savory but recently had berries and cream stuffed french toast and it was divine. It reminded me of a recipe we saw on Sam the Cooking Guy. I’ll have to take you to the breakfast place next time you’re in CO.

  2. […] without adding calories. Other tips – pile pretty much anything on a bed of spinach. I serve savory oats over spinach for extra volume and nutrients. If you make the correct portion of pasta, it can seem […]

Leave a Reply

