New Rules

Since it is a new month and I am really trying to hard to get back to my healthy self, I am setting up some new “rules” for myself. I write rules in quotes because you never know what might happen and I am not going to beat myself up is I break a rule once or twice. Rules we made for breaking, anyway, right?


I have been feeling a little out of whack lately. I seem to be spinning in circles which leads to feeling like I am doing everything half-assed. The best way for me to change that is try to get all my ducks in a row. I tried catching up on some work this weekend and mapped out my plan of attack to get things moving in the right direction. The main goal is just to be conscious and think about what I am and am not doing everyday so I can be my best self!


1. Eat what I pack. When it comes to lunch during the week, I can only eat what I bring with me. Since I work with kids, I am in snack heaven (or hell) for 8 hours everyday. I will find myself reaching for a stray string cheese or cracker even though I may not be hungry. This rule will help me think about what I am eating and plan ahead. The exception to this rule is fresh fruits and veggies. I can snack on all the carrot sticks I want.
2. Fit it in This rule is all about making an effort to be active. I really want to kick my workouts up a notch, and while my strolls with Cash are one of the best parts of my day, I need to kick my butt when I have the chance too. It will take a little extra time and effort, but I know it will be worth it to spend time working myself out everyday.
3. Watch portions. Portions are my arch nemesis. I just love food too much! I generally eat very healthy and keep only healthy foods in the house, but too much of anything is a bad thing. I will be making an effort to watch my portions. This is really only an issue with dinner and dining out. I will serve myself the appropriate portion and skip seconds. This rule is much easier said than done!
4. Limit desserts. Again, a rule that is easier said than done. I don’t believe in cutting anything out completely (with the exception of things like trans fats). I know myself well enough that I would just be setting myself up for failure or complete misery. Rather than eliminate desserts completely, I plan to have dessert only a few times a week not every night. Rule 3 will also help to keep desserts in check.


Do you have any food or exercise rules you live by or try to add to your routine?


One thought on “New Rules

  1. abbynormally says:

    Limiting desserts… that’ll be so hard! It’s been weighing on me too!

Leave a Reply

