Not All Gyms are Created Equal



In an effort to fit in exercise, I made it a point to pack my gym bag so I could hit the gym on the way home. I actually found myself really excited to go. I must have been craving a good sweat. I do love working out, but not so much at 5 PM. All I want to do after a long day is come home, kiss my three boys, put on sweats, eat dinner and relax. That is why I have always been a morning exerciser. But my schedule just doesn’t accommodate morning workouts now, so I have had to adapt.


I belong to 24 Hour Fitness because my membership is SO cheap ($99/year) and there are so many locations, the convenience and cost wins out over fancier options. But not all 24 Hour Fitness gyms are created equal. The gym I had been stopping at on the way home is dark, tiny and so crowded. I found myself struggling through 25 minutes on the stairclimber and getting out of there as fast as I could.


Taking advice from my oh-so-wise boyfriend, I decided to try another location on the way home tonight. Just as conveniently located, but the conditions were night and day! This 24 Hour was clean, bright, huge and spacious. The number of cardio machines are amazing. I could choose whichever machine I liked because there were plenty of open machines.


Workout
I totally kicked my own butt tonight and it was awesome! I thought about checking out the Amp’d Abs class that is described as:

“Tired of doing the same basic crunches? In this workout you’ll be led through a variety of effective exercises designed to work the entire abdominal area. Amp’d Abs is a must-have in everyone’s fitness regime.”

But my abs are still so sore from Pilates that I skipped it. Instead my workout looked like:
– 5 minutes stairclimber (level 8)
– 10 minutes “fancy elipitcal” (level 6-10)
– Weights: lat pull downs, tricep dips, chest flyes, chest press, hammer curls, lateral raises, one-legged dead lifts, squats.
– 17 minutes on the dreadmill: 10 minutes at 6.5 MPH, 5 minutes alternating 1 min @ 7.0, 1 min @ 7.5. Two minute walking cool down.

All in all my workout was quick and efficient and I burned 530 calories in 51 minutes! Woohoo! I earned the delicious pizza I came home to that Aaron made for dinner. You can get the recipe on his website.


One thought on “Not All Gyms are Created Equal

Leave a Reply

