I Should Know Better

Happy Valentine’s Eve! What are your plans for the big day? We are kind of celebrating tonight by going to a crab feed. Since our anniversary is just 5 days before Valentine’s we kind of combine the two days. We had date night on Tuesday to celebrate.


Today was a busy and sweaty morning. After a night of zero sleep on Thursday because of a nagging cough, I knocked myself out with cough syrup last night so that Aaron and I both could sleep. It worked like a charm, and after 8 solid hours of sleep, I was ready to tackle the day.


Aaron and I started off with a run and then swung back by the house to grab the puppy for a walk. I had a date with my mom at 10AM to going through my childhood home and organize, clean and toss a lot of stuff. I took it as an opportunity to fit in more exercise by riding my bike to my parents’ house. The weather this weekend is amazing and it felt great to be outside. Riding along the bike path is so enjoyable. You don’t have to stop at intersections, it is so much safer and it is gorgeous! Check it out:





I rode as fast as I could and it felt great. After a few hours of organizing, I headed for home. Just about a mile in I knew I was in trouble. I felt myself bonking! All I had eaten was a Luna bar and a banana at 8 this morning. Bonking is a condition caused by the depletion of glycogen stores in the liver and muscles, which manifests itself by precipitous fatigue and loss of energy. I was definitely feeling like I was out of gas. I should have known better!


While training for my century ride, I was diligent about my nutrition and hydration and making sure to avoid the bonk. I guess in my mind I was thinking, “I’m just riding to my parents’ house, it’s no big deal.” But all together, I rode 14 miles in 53 minutes, burning a total of 630 calories. Add to that the calories burned during my run and walk, and common sense would tell you that a Luna bar and banana isn’t enough. Here is a map of my ride:




I got home, showered and immediately made myself a quick protein shake with non-fat milk, vanilla protein powder and cocoa powder. And a little while later, grabbed a veggie sandwich with Aaron. I am still hungry, but am holding out for crab tonight!


I really love cycling and need to make a point to do it more often. I don’t have time during the week right now (hopefully I will when summer rolls around) but when the weather is nice on the weekends, I will try to make a point to go for a ride.


Now I am contemplating some more cough syrup and a nap before the feast!

4 thoughts on “I Should Know Better

  1. abbynormally says:

    I’m going to be getting a road bike soon! I’m so excited to start riding.. however, I also need for all the snow to melt 😦

    • modernation says:

      Yes – snow makes it hard to ride. I don’t have to worry about snow, but riding in cold fog and rain is no fun either. Can’t wait to hear how your road bike experience is. I love it!

  2. Darryl says:

    Hey girl, thanks for sharing your cycling thoughts. It’s great to see that you’ve developed a love for the bike as part of your general love for fitness. As a guy passionate about cycling and all the good things that come from it, I love seeing others become a part of it.
    Keep up the riding and if you ever have any questions or comments on anything to do with the bike, just let us know. And as for your commenter, abbynormally, I love that your excited to start road biking. Hope the snow melts soon so you can get out there and start loving the bike.
    Keep the great articles coming.

  3. […] Holidays — modernation @ 11:04 am How was your Valentines weekend? We had a good weekend. Saturday morning was full of fun exercise. Saturday night my Dad took us to a crab feed which was so fun. I […]

Leave a Reply

