Let’s Move

I am not into politics in the least, but I am so excited that Michelle Obama has launched the Let’s Move campaign to end childhood obesity. I am passionate about the issue, so I think it is great that it is getting attention from so high up the totem pole. I love what the first lady has done with the White House garden and working to educate children on how to eat healthy.




Let’s Move is a campaign that’s going to rally our nation to achieve a single but very ambitious goal, and that’s to solve the problem of childhood obesity in a generation so that children born today will reach adulthood at a healthy weight.

The initiative is based on 4 key pillars:
1. Making healthier choices – and providing families with the information to make these choices.
2. Improve the quality of food in our schools
3. Improve access and affordability of healthy foods. I think this is KEY!
4. Increase physical activity for kids.


There is a great little video from Michelle Obama on the Let’s Move website.


I don’t have kids, but I work with kids and plan to have kids in the future, so I think about this issue a lot. I grew up playing sports and eating dinner at the table with my family. I didn’t eat perfectly growing up, but we focused on balance and complete meals and I was exposed to all types of food. We had a “just try one bite” rule in our house when it came to vegetables or other foods we didn’t want to try.


I can’t put myself in the shoes of a parent, so I can’t judge the decisions other parents make, but I plan to do everything I can to raise my own children with a healthy and nutritious diet. I think it is important to get children involved in their nutrition and educate them on it so that they are prepared to make the best choices in the future. I know…easier said than done, but a girl can dream! And I don’t see physical activity being a problem. I hate video games, and Aaron and I plan to have athletic super stars for children! šŸ˜‰


Any thoughts on this hot topic?

Leave a Reply

