Grocery Shop and This Week’s Menu

Haven’t posted much about meal planning for awhile (mostly because I forget to take a picture before I put the groceries away). Not today! Most weeks I go to two grocery stores – Safeway and Trader Joe’s. I actually really enjoy meal planning and grocery shopping (does that make me weird?) so I don’t really mind going to two stores. But this week I decided to try an experiment.


This week I decided to try doing all our grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s. Trader Joe’s is so much cheaper and I just love all their stuff. There is a more limited selection of items, and they don’t carry specialty items, but I didn’t see us needing anything special this week. So, other than the few things we picked up at Costco on Friday, everything else this week is from Trader Joe’s.





In the bag:

– Eggs
– Vegetable Egg Rols
– Garlic Powder
– Broccolini
– Manicotti with Mushroom Marinara
– Mayo and Mustard
– Zucchini
– Bananas
– Orange Chicken
– Pork Cutlets
– Frozen Chicken Breasts
– Tortillas
– Grape Tomatoes
– Turkey Bolognese
– Lite Kettle Korn
– Artichoke Ravioli
– Fat Free Milk
– Blood Oranges
– Fuji Apples
– Fat Free Refried Beans


This week’s menu:
– Pork Picata with pasta, green beans, green salad
– Artichoke Ravioli with broccolini and green salad for Meat Free Monday
– Orange Chicken, Veggie Egg Rolls, Zucchini
– Fish Tacos
– Turkey Bolognese with Polenta and green salad


Yum! What are you guys eating this week? How many grocery stores do you go to each week?

2 thoughts on “Grocery Shop and This Week’s Menu

  1. abbynormally says:

    I wish that I could plan ahead, but I really can’t. I do love to shop at Trader Joe’s though!

  2. Your meal planning is so impressive! I think I would be much more efficient and less scattered if I planned ahead. Where do you get your meal ideas and what system do you use to stick to your plan (list, calendar, etc.)?

    I’d love to see a post on this; I think your tips would be so helpful to those of us who feel a bit overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

