Meat Free Monday #1

Last week I announced that I would be participating in Meat Free Monday during Lent (and hopefully beyond). I generally eat vegetarian everyday for breakfast, lunch and snacks. But we usually have meat or fish at dinner. So, the only part of my day that will be affected is dinner. The plan is to have MFM become something I do beyond Lent. One less meal containing meat will not only benefit the environment, it will also benefit my health and waistline.


Some facts about meat production:
– Depending on where and how it is produced the FAO estimates that the livestock industry is responsible for between 13.5 and 18 per cent of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.
– Currently some 800 million people on the planet now suffer from hunger or malnutrition, while the majority of corn and soya grown in the world – which could be feeding them, goes to feed cattle, pigs and chickens. By some estimates 20 vegetarians can be fed on the amount of land needed to feed one person consuming a meat-based diet.
– Meat accounts for the most expense at grocery store visits, so making one or two vegetarian dinners a week is a great way to cut costs. Dishes based on pantry staples like rice, whole grains, beans, and legumes are protein-rich, filling, and inexpensive; add seasonal produce for crunch, freshness, and color. A bonus: Research shows eating more plant-based foods may lower your risk for heart disease, diabetes, and some cancers.


My meatless meals and snacks for today included:
– Cinnamon Puffins, fat-free milk, banana
– Fuji apple
– Trader Joe’s lite kettle korn (kind of obsessed with this stuff)
– Amy’s Bean and Rice burrito
– Manicotti with mushroom marinara, broccolini and green salad


I also had a meeting with Slowfood Sacramento. I am helping they out with their website and also hopefully will be writing a blog for them! The meeting was great and it was at a really cool place called Hot Italian. I didn’t eat anything, but the pizzas, calzones, panini and salads all sounded amazing. Will have to check it out one of these days. Pretty productive, and meat free Monday!

3 thoughts on “Meat Free Monday #1

  1. Good for you! And great facts too. I definitely noticed the drop in our grocery tab when I quit eating meat (my husband still does).

    I wish you much luck during your venture and I hope you keep it up beyond Lent too 🙂

  2. Gosh, I really need to start eating more vegetarian meals. My breakfast is generally veggie but lunch and dinner vary. Would you consider starting a feature about vegetarian meals to give people some good ideas? (I always go the pasta or salad route but I know there is so much more variety out there.)

Leave a Reply

