Meat Free Monday Round 2

Yesterday marked my second MFM and it is totally a piece of cake. I really enjoy eating meat free, but I don’t have the urge to go completely vegetarian. I also love meat! I am really just a lover of food in general and don’t feel a strong enough pull toward vegetarianism or veganism to make the plunge right now. I just try to limit my meat consumption and watch m portions. I also try to choose the friendliest options whenever possible.

Okay, onto the eats. Today I had my typical lunch of Amy’s Bean and Rice Burrito and an apple. Regardless of whether it is MFM or not, I typically have one of these burritos for lunch every day during the week. Surprisingly, I really don’t get sick of them and look forward to them everyday. They have 300 calories, 6 grams of fiber and 11 grams of protein, so they really keep me full.

On the menu for tonight was paninis. Paninis are great because Aaron and I can each choose our own toppings to create our ideal melty sandwich. My panini was roasted vegetables with spinach and goat cheese. A reader requested that I feature more of my vegetarian meals to give ideas of meatless options other than just salad or pasta. To do that I added a category titled “Vegetarian Meals” so you can search for inspiration whenever you wanted.

To make the panini I started by chopping up veggies and throwing them in a roasting pan. You can use whatever you have. My mix included 1 medium zucchini, 5 giant cherry tomatoes, 5 asparagus spears, 1 cup chopped crimini mushrooms, 1/4 yellow onion, 1/2 red bell pepper and 1 clove of garlic. I tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.



This made a big batch of roasted veggies which was the idea. Since roasting vegetables takes about 45 minutes in the oven, I like to make extra to have leftover.

I sliced rosemary baguette and drizzled it with olive oil, spread a couple of tablespoons of goat cheese on both sides, added a layer of fresh spinach and then the veggies. Onto the panini press until the bread was nice and crispy and the cheese was melty. YUM! So satisfying and no meat needed!

Oh…and just for good measure, here is Aaron’s panini which also looked delicious. It was grilled chicken, spinach, blue cheese and bacon.

2 thoughts on “Meat Free Monday Round 2

  1. Abby says:

    That looks so good!! I Think I might have to try it 🙂

  2. […] Paninis: Similar to tacos, DIY meals like paninis are perfect for different dietary needs.  Everyone can pick and choose their toppings.  We did this once before when I was participating in Meat Free Monday. […]

Leave a Reply

