The Way to a Girl’s Heart

They always say that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. What about the way to a woman’s heart? I would argue that it is through her stomach, too! At least this woman. 😉

For our second date, Aaron cooked me dinner. He pulled out all the stops and made Chicken Parmesan all from scratch. We joke that that was when I fell in love with him. I know he fell in love with me when I made him bacon wrapped scallops, blue cheese stuffed New York steak and asparagus risotto. Who wouldn’t, right? 😉

Yesterday I was on the phone with Aaron and he was telling me about his and Cash’s trip to the dog park and how Cash was currently enjoying a peanut butter treat in his Kong. Aaron said that we were almost out of peanut butter but that he made sure to leave me enough to make PB and Banana toast before my Saturday morning ride.

Last night as I was falling asleep and thinking about my ride this morning, my heart totally melted as I thought about how sweet it was that Aaron thought about my pre-ride breakfast. The combination of a random act of kindness and the fact that he knows what I like to eat before my long workouts just seemed so sweet to me.

It just goes to show you that it really is the little things in life that make the biggest difference. So I would say the way to a woman’s heart is through food AND random acts of kindness. This morning as I scrapped the last traces of PB out of the jar and spread it on my sandwich thin, I was thinking about how lucky I am to have such a thoughtful and sweet boyfriend! Don’t underestimate the power of the little things.

Okay, before I make you puke from this lovey dovey stuff (or the fact that I share a jar of PB with my dog), I enjoyed my cup of French Press coffee, my PB and banana toast and am not trying to motivate myself to get off the couch and get dressed for a 35 mile ride. My legs are already sore from working at the engagement party last night. I am not sure how the ride will go, but I am going to do my best to get the 35 miles in. Today I am not aiming for a certain pace, just mileage. We will see how it goes, though!

What are some random acts of kindness you have performed or witnessed recently? I LOVE RAKs!!!

Leave a Reply

