Hot Tamale

What a fun day I have had! First off, I woke up to the sun shining, which is always the best way to start a day. After I great cup of coffee, I headed to Trader Joe’s to pick up a few essentials for the week. This week is all about eating what we have to clear out the fridge and freezer so there should be some interesting meals.

Aaron and I took Cash to the river to play and get good and tuckered out since we were going to be out of the house for a few hours. What was on the agenda? A tamale making class at Whole Foods. Aaron has been talking about tamales for months, and when I saw the class, I knew it would be the perfect activity for his birthday.

The class was really fun. It was hands-on and the chef, Arturo, was very funny and nice. The instruction part seemed a little unorganized, but we learned some tips and tricks and had a good time. We learned how to make vegetarian and two kinds of chicken tamales (red and green). We got to eat both the red chicken and vegetarian tamales. We also loaded up boxes of our work to take home and steam one night for dinner this week. So good!









When we got back from tamales I knew I needed something sweet. Since the weather was so perfect, I decided we should take the dog and walk to get frozen yogurt. It was one of the best ideas I have had in awhile. 😉 I was just SO happy walking with my boys and soaking in the sunshine while getting some fresh air. That is what makes me happy!

Oh my gosh – in best news I’ve ever heard – AARON HAS DECIDED TO DO THE CENTURY RIDE WITH ME!!!!!!! We went to dinner last night at One Speed, which was actually the perfect place for him to tell me. One Speed is about three things – Pizza. Bikes. Love. Awesome! Aaron had been thinking about doing the 30 or 60 mile ride at the Echelon, but then decided he wanted the challenge of the 100 miles. He told me that when I told him the training and the ride would be long and lonely, he decided he wanted to keep me company. I am so so so proud of him and so excited to share the experience with him. It is going to be a fun and exciting journey. He is going to try to do it on his mountain bike with some modifications, so that should be interesting!

Are you guys watching the Oscars? I would love to have an Oscar party because I love making appetizers and hosting parties, but that would mean we would have to watch the Oscars, and I just can’t hang for that long. All I have to do is turn on my TV or open my computer tomorrow and see all the winners and other noteworthy happenings from the event. Should be interesting to see how it all turns out!

Leave a Reply

