Biker’s Paradise

Today has been a great day. I can only imagine how much better it would be if Aaron was home. I got a solid 9 hours of much-needed sleep (even with the time change) last night which was great. I wore the puppy out good, so he slept in a little bit. Thank you, Cash ;). I had a pretty leisurely morning with coffee, a 30 minute walk with the pup, and a good breakfast before my bike ride. I had 1.5 sandwich thins with PB and a banana.

I headed out a little later than normal for my ride so I could hang out with the animals before leaving them for hours. I also didn’t have to worry about leaving Aaron waiting for me like normal. When I headed out for my 40 mile ride, the weather was amazing. I was prepared for a jam-packed bike trail, but was pleasantly surprised to find the trail was pretty quiet. I realized the running groups that normally act as obstacles were off running the Shamrock Half Marathon. It was a biker’s paradise out there!

I wish I had brought my camera to show you guys how pretty the ride was. Each week that I go a little further I see new things. Just before my turn around point, I was riding right alongside the lake and watching paddle boaters paddling and crew teams practicing. I was so happy to be out there.

My final stats were:
Distance: 41.2 miles
Time: 2:44:00
Pace: 15 MPH

Immediately upon returning home, I drank a glass of chocolate milk I had prepped before leaving and then made lunch – turkey and cheddar sandwich on whole wheat sandwich thin with a green monster.

Fueling on the Ride
I wanted to talk about fueling on the ride (and really during any endurance sport). Fueling, and fueling properly before, during and after your workouts is crucial. During my ride today I consumed 1 espresso Clif Shot and about 2/3 of a Clif Bar and drank 2 bottles of plain water and 1 of an electrolyte replacement. I am usually never hungry during a ride or a run, but I know how important it is, so I eat. I know a lot of people have a hard time eating during exercise and their stomachs don’t handle food well. You need to try figure out what works for you and make sure you get the calories in that you need. My stomach is pretty tough, so I can handle most anything. My favorites include:

“Engineered Foods”
– Clif Shot: Mocha and Espresso flavors. They have caffeine which gives me a boost mid-ride
– Clif Shot Blocks: Also have caffine
– Clif Bars: The mini ones are perfect size

“Real” Food
– Goldfish: taste really good on a ride and are good for sodium
– Pretzel Sticks: Salty and easy to travel with
– Raisins: Quick carbs and sugar boost
– PB Pretzels: Sodium, carbs and protein

My advice is to play around with what works for you. If you really can’t stomach much, try more calorie-dense drink powders. But make sure they get their calories from carbs, not protein. Save the protein powders for after your ride. During your rides you need carbs.

I took the pup to the dog park and then went to Trader Joe’s to get something for dinner. I wasn’t really craving anything in particular, so I wandered around until something peaked my interest. I thought about the Garlic Naan that has been in the freezer, so I went the Indian route. I picked up Dal Masala and will have to give a review of it later. It better be good, because now I’m starving!

One thought on “Biker’s Paradise

  1. […] Getting my Butt in Gear Partial Course Preview in Napa Reverse Brick A Hilly 55 Miles Halfway There Biker’s Paradise and Fuel The Power of a Training Plan Rolling on the River Spread the new and help me win! ▶ No […]

Leave a Reply

