Meat Free Tuesday

Hello World! Today is a good day. I may have not gotten as much sleep as I wanted and may or may not have a wine headache, but it is a good day no matter what. Today is the day Aaron comes home after being gone for 6 days. We are not apart much, so this was major! He doesn’t get in until 10:15 tonight (past my bedtime), but I cannot wait to see him. And to top off this great day, I get a massage at 6 tonight after work. Thanks Mom and Dad!

Well, Meat Free Monday didn’t happen. I was meat free all day (like usual), but then my Dad took me out to dinner and someone put pork in both my dishes. Haha – how can you turn down bacon on your salad and panceta with your scallops? We had a great dinner at a little Italian place. We split a grilled romaine salad with caramelized onions, bacon and blue cheese buttermilk dressing. Both of us could not stop raving about it. For my entree, I had the scallops immediately caught my attention. Three jumbo seared sea scallops over asparagus marscapone risotto with crispy panceta. Um, yes please!

I ate every bite. I kept telling myself to stop, but the fork just kept going in my mouth. I felt great until about 10 minutes after I finished and the risotto started to expand. I really have issues with portions, especially when I eat out. I need to work on that. We also shared a bottle of wine and it was fun to catch up with my dad.

So today will be Meat Free Tuesday to make up for yesterday. I had PB toast and a green monster this morning. The green monster totally helped wake me up and get rid of my wine head ache, even after only 6 hours of restless sleep (I like to get between 7 and 8 hours of sleep if I can). Last night I had nightmare after nightmare, each one involving something horrible happening to a member of my family, or one of my pets. It was AWFUL! I can’t remember them exactly, but I rarely have dreams, so this sucked. I woke up at 1:45 and went to check on the dog because I was that freaked out. 😦

For lunch I brought a salad with mixed greens, carrots, red onion, tomatoes and steamed lentils with balsamic and olive oil. Not sure what dinner will be, but it will probably be late as I don’t want to scarf down dinner and then go get a massage. I will try to have my snack late which includes leftover GM from this AM, sweet potato chips (like crack), an apple and dried cranberries. YUMMY! Looking forward to snack already.

What are you looking forward to today?

Leave a Reply

