Margaritaville

I have had margaritas on the mind for weeks now. In San Diego last summer my Dad and I had the best restaurant margaritas I have ever had at La Puerta. I usually steer clear of margaritas at restaurants because they are generally way too sweet for me and also loaded with calories. But these were amazing. The menu read: tequila, agave syrup, fresh lime juice. Easy enough!

Since I always have agave syrup in the pantry, I knew when the weather was nice I wanted to try to make these margaritas. With the weather being sunny and in the 70s all week, today was the day! After a short run (2.13 miles) with my brother this afternoon, I headed to the store to pick up the essentials. It is really strange to buy a bottle of tequila while wearing running clothes. To balance things out, I also bought bananas, frozen cherries and limes!



Tequila, lime, agave syrup, ice.

Combine all in cocktail shaker, shake your heart out and pour over ice. I used the juice of 3 limes, 4 shots of tequila and 2 tablespoons agave for 2 cocktails. I had no idea what measurements to use.



It was pretty good, but 3 limes was too much. I think two would have been perfect. So, for each cocktail I would use 2 shots tequila, 1 lime and 1 tablespoon agave.

Served alongside Trader Joe’s low fat kettle korn, which just tastes fancier when served in a bowl and heated in the microwave for 20 seconds.



Now we are waiting for my bro to get here and getting ready to have some homemade artichoke red pepper dip before buffalo burgers and fries. Yay for Friday!

Leave a Reply

