Halfway There (almost)

Yesterday my training plan called for a 45 mile ride. Aaron and I headed out a little after 10 for our first long ride together. Aaron is at the beginning of his training, so he was not going to go quite as far as me. His plan was to go as far as he could while still thinking he could make it home. Sounds about right to me!

Aaron and I rode together for the first 13 miles. He headed home for a round trip ride of 26 miles. So proud of him! I was solo for the rest of my ride. Somewhere between mile 13 and mile 20, I decided I would shoot for 50 miles instead of 45. 50 seemed like a nice round number!

One thing I didn’t expect was that miles 20-24.24 would be ENTIRELY uphill. When I got to the top of the millionth climb, I decided I just couldn’t go any further and decided 48.5 miles would just have to do. I stopped for some fuel and a bit of a rest. This sign was sent from above, I think:



It may have been meant for construction workers, but is also a great reminder for cyclists. After so many miles, there can be a tendency to space out. It is so important to stay aware of your surrounding because you never know when and where something or someone might get in your way. With this reminder and a great view of Folsom Lake, I was headed home.



The ride home was uneventful and I was so happy to be home. I have been feeling a little bit of a head cold coming on, so I was just glad to make it through. F

FUEL
Throughout my ride I ate 1/2 Clif Bar, 3 shot blocks, 1 Clif Shot, 5-6 peanut butter pretzels, 4 pieces dried pears. These items provided me with a mix of carbs, sodium, caffeine and a little protein.

When I got home I made a green monster with 1 cup milk, 1 scoop protein powder, 1 banana, 3/4 cup frozen cherries and 2 cups spinach. After downing the GM I made 1.5 servings artichoke ravioli with tomatoes, basil, garlic, olive oil and parm cheese. I was so happy to eat real food!

HYDRATION
This was the first ride for this training season that I broke out the CamelBak for. It really makes a big difference in my hydration by carried 50 oz. of fluids on my bike and 70 oz. on my back. I am not stressed about my water bottles getting low or where the next drinking fountain is. Also, I am confident in the quality of the water I will have on hand. I know first hand how horrible some water fountain water can taste.

FINAL STATS
Distance: 48.5 miles
Time: 3:21:00
Pace: 14.4 MPH
Calories: 1967

Feels so good to be making progress on my training. Now I just have to get to the point where I can do two of those rides in a row – 8 weeks from now. It will be an adventure.

One thought on “Halfway There (almost)

  1. […] Fab Forty Getting my Butt in Gear Partial Course Preview in Napa Reverse Brick A Hilly 55 Miles Halfway There Biker’s Paradise and Fuel The Power of a Training Plan Rolling on the River Spread the new […]

Leave a Reply

