In the Words of Tim Gunn

Sometimes you just have to make it work.

Yesterday it seemed like things were coming at me left and right. My plate kept getting more and more full. I was close to getting completely overwhelmed, but I took a step back, took a deep breath and made a plan. Being prepared is the only way I can stay sane.

I had contemplated going for an hour bike ride when I got home, but I had too much work to get accomplished. One daily ritual I do not like to mess with is our evening family walk. No matter how crazy my day is, two minutes into our walk I feel a million times better. Watching the puppy enjoy the littlest things like fresh air, running and picking up sticks brings me back to reality. It is also such a nice time to catch up with Aaron about our days.



Since I wasn’t going to have time for a ride, I continued to stay prepared and brought my iPod on our walk. As we got the end of our walk, I took off on a fast 20 minute run while Aaron took the pup home. It felt great. At first my legs felt a little heavy from my 48 mile ride on Sunday, but then I got in my groove. Some great tunes, nice weather and a good sweat session was just what I needed. Some of my latest favorite running songs are:

Timebomb by Beck
Jai Ho from Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack
Crimson and Clover – Joan Jett

I covered 2.31 miles in 20 minutes and quickly showered while Aaron cooked dinner. I am so lucky to have a wonderful boyfriend who is an amazing cook and will make me dinner AND do the dishes so I can get work done. We had the yummiest taco salads! I spent the rest of the night cranking out as much work as possible. I finally cut myself off at 9 so I could enjoy dessert and a little snuggle time with my boys.

Somehow I made it work, and I didn’t get too stressed out. I just have to remember to take it one thing at a time and it will all work out.

Leave a Reply

