Who Wears Short Shorts?

Um, apparently I do. I got off work early, so I came home to head out on a ride. I grabbed a pair of cycling shorts I haven’t worn for a long time. Now I know why I haven’t worn them. They immediately started to ride up. By the time I got a mile from home I looked like the spandex version of Daisy Duke. I was uncomfortable, but I just tried to keep my mind off my almost completely bare legs and pedal so fast that people wouldn’t notice.

The first half of my ride I was totally cruising. I felt great and looked down at my computer and saw 18, 19 and 20 MPH. I thought I had found the perfect equation of Long ride + rest day + run day + short fast ride. My goal was to ride for 30 minutes and turn around and head home for a total ride time of an hour. I was making such great time, that I decided to make my goal 20 miles. I turned around at mile 10 after and hour and 10 minutes. My average pace was 16.9 MPH which was awesome!

When I turned around I realized that my equation for a speedy mid week ride also needed to include a tail wind. The way home was slower because I had a fierce wind blowing in my face. At times I was struggling to keep a 13 MPH pace. But I made it, and so glad I hit 20 miles. My final pace was 15.5 MPH, which isn’t too shabby. The total time was 1:16:00 and I burned almost 900 calories.

I totally earned one of my favorite dinners – Lamb Kebabs. Lamb skewers, zucchini, onion, red bell pepper, whole wheat couscous, tzaziki, hummus. Yum! And I totally plan to have thebest thing since oats in a jar for dessert. Ice cream in a jar. Oh yeah – chocolate sorbet in an almost empty peanut butter jar.

2 thoughts on “Who Wears Short Shorts?

  1. What are these desserts you speak of- the best thing since oats in a jar, ice cream in a jar, chocolate sorbet in an almost empty peanut butter jar? I am intrigued.

Leave a Reply

