Oprah Intervals

After a couple weeks of perfect weather, a spring storm decided to roll through town this week. That meant, no outdoor evening workouts this week, so I headed to the gym when I got off work. Since I got done with work a little early, I planned to hit the treadmill and the pool for a double workout.

I hopped on the treadmill when I got there and ran 3 miles while watching Oprah. I am not a huge Oprah fan, but it was nice to do something other than listen to my iPod while running. To make my run go even faster, I incorporated some Oprah intervals. During the commercials I tuned into my iPod and cranked up the speed. I alternated between 9:13/mile and 8:00/mile pace through the 3 miles. It felt great!

After my run, I quickly moved over the the weights and quickly went through a set of:
Deadlifts (40 pounds)
Squats (40 pounds)
Hammer curls (15 lb dumbbells)
Chest Flyes (15 lbs)
Chest press (15 lbs)
Bent rows (12.5 lbs)
Tricep kick backs (12.5 lbs)

Then I did a quick change and hit the pool. I did 1,000 meters (40 laps) in 20 minutes. I haven’t swam in so long. I grew up swimming competitively and playing waterpolo through high school. Swimming used to be so easy, but I was struggling today. I felt like I was swimming through quick sand, not water. That may have had something to do with the 3 miles and weights I tackled right before, too. 🙂 I did 750 meters just swimming and then did the last 250 split into 5 x 50 meters on 1 minute intervals. It felt nice to finish strong, and it made the laps go by faster.

I love intervals – especially at the gym. It is a great way to make the most out of your time at the gym and use the equipment to your advantage. It is harder to do intervals when you are out on the road than on a treadmill. If the gym is where you find yourself working out, give intervals a try!

Leave a Reply

