Move of the Moment: Jump Squats

I haven’t posted a Move of the Moment in a long time, so I thought we all were due.

The main reason for this is that I have totally been neglecting my strength training. And when I have found time for strength training, I haven’t been doing any new moves.

I have been sticking to my tried and true moves that are super effective, easy and require little or no equipment. Aren’t those the best moves, anyway?

Jump Squats totally fit this bill. I like to do them whenever I have spare time. They are great for getting your heart rate up quick and building leg muscles. They work your quads which are great for cycling, too.

Image courtesy of Women's Health Magazine



Stand with feet shoulder-width apart, arms at sides. Sit back into a regular squat until thighs are about parallel to the floor. Then jump up explosively, swinging your arms upward and reaching toward the ceiling. Bring arms back to sides as you come down and land with your knees soft to absorb the impact. Immediately perform another rep. Continue for a set of 10 to 15.

If you want a real challenge, hold light dumbbells (3-5 lbs) in each hand and follow the same steps as above.

One thought on “Move of the Moment: Jump Squats

  1. […] (or two, or three) workout moves, what would they be? If I could add one more, it would probably be jump squats.   Leave a […]

Leave a Reply

