Morning Workouts are Back

In an effort to make some small changes I hit the gym bright and early this morning. When I was working 9-5 in San Diego, I regularly hit the gym before work. My gym was 1 mile from my house and my office was only 10 minutes from my house, so it was easy to fit an early workout in my schedule.

Now that I work 30 minutes from home and have to be at work at 8, getting to the gym (10-15 minutes from home) is a little bit more of a challenge. But you know what is even more of a challenge? Going to the gym AFTER work. After work, all I want to do is go home and be with my boys. And it seems like something always comes up to ruin my after work plans.

I never have to worry about anyone trying to make plans with me at 5:30 or 6 in the morning. 😉

Last night I packed up my gym back with clothes for work, make up, shower gel and a towel. I also packed up food for breakfast, lunch and snacks.

This morning I woke up at 5:30, got dressed, took the puppy out and hit the road for the gym. It was so nice to see the gym almost empty. I ate half a Clif bar on the way. I hammered out a quick 60 minute workout.

– 25 minutes on the treadmill. Mostly running with some walking mixed in. I was sore from Saturday’s ride and softball practice yesterday.
– 25 minutes strength training, abs and stretching
– 10 minutes on stairclimber at level 8

I rinsed of in the shower, did my makeup, got dressed and hit the road. I ate the other half of my Clif bar and a banana before stopping for coffee.

It felt so great to workout in the morning. It totally boosts my energy levels and is a great way to start my day and my week on the right note! I am going to shoot for a morning workout 2-3 times a week.

Are you a morning, afternoon, or nighttime exerciser? If I workout too late in the evening I sometimes have a hard time falling asleep because exercise really wakes me up!

One thought on “Morning Workouts are Back

  1. Hallie says:

    This sounds a lot like my AM workout routine. I too, prefer going in the morning because then it’s done and your evenings are free to socialize or cook or whatever (blog?). But I HATE getting up early and I also find myself really hungry all morning when I work out early, so I see it as the lesser of two evils between going before or after work.

Leave a Reply

