Every Little Bit Helps

Happy Earth Day!

How are you doing your part to be green today – and every day?

Unfortunately, my day did not get off to a very green start. I have to drive 20 miles to work and there is just no way around it.  One of these days I plan to ride my bike home from work now that I know the route. The whole green trend can be a little overwhelming at times.  I try to do what I can with what works with my lifestyle. Here are some ways I try to do my part to be green.

Reusable Shopping Bags

Every time we go to the market, we take three reusable bags to bring our groceries home. I kick myself when I forget them, but we always find ways to reuse the paper or plastic bags from the store if we do forget.

Shop at the Farmers Market

We love the Farmers Market. It is a fun way to spend a nice Saturday or Sunday afternoon. We like to browse, sample and have lunch at the market. It is a great to support local businesses and farmers.  And the fresh foods taste so much better!  Another way to support local farms is to join a CSA. A CSA is also a great way broaden your horizons and try new fruits and vegetables.

Recycle

Now that we live in a house, recycling is so much easier.  We have two bins in the kitchen – one for recycle and one for trash. I love that we have to empty our recycle bin much more often than our trash. Love filling up that big blue trash can in the backyard!

Compost

We have grand plans for a garden in the backyard, which will help us eat as locally as possible (you can’t get more local than your own backyard). In anticipation, we started a compost bin shortly after moving in. We can put all our fruit and vegetable food scraps in the bin. We also can add coffee grinds and filters and dryer lint. We followed the instructions on our favorite home improvement, DIY blog Young House Love.

Eat More Veggies

We aim to eat as many veggies as possible and limit meat.  I eat met once per day at the most.

What are your best going green tips?

Leave a Reply

