Savory Breakfast Pancake

The past three mornings I have been on a pancake kick. I love Trader Joe’s Multigrain Pancake and Baking Mix. It is the same I use for my quick blueberry muffins. You really don’t have to add much to it for it to taste good. But you can add anything!

Wednesday and Thursday mornings I made one big 5 inch pancake with frozen blueberries and strawberries warmed in the microwave for 1 minute with a little powdered sugar. Delish!

This morning I had a craving for something savory – must have been needing protein from my ride yesterday.

I decided to make savory pancakes.

I combined:
1/3 cup TJ’s multigrain pancake mix
~ 1/4 cup (?) old fashioned oats
1 egg white
1/4 cup milk
1 cup spinach steamed in micro for 20 seconds
2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

I made this into one large pancake and cooked until golden brown on both sides. It gets almost souffle like from the egg whites. So light and fluffy! While it cooked, I fried 1 egg. Top pancake with egg and enjoy! The Parmesan was a nice touch and some of it oozed out a little and got nice and crispy. This was a nice change from sweet pancakes and had extra protein and some fat to help keep me full. And the green spinach popping through is so pretty, too!

Leave a Reply

