Fab Forty

I had a fabulous 40 mile ride this morning/afternoon. This weekend was really busy with:

– Chili cook-off that Aaron won!



– Catering a 40th birthday party
– Softball practice
– Errands

Because of our schedule this weekend, there was just no way I was going to be able to get in a 70+ mile ride. I decided I would split it up and tackle two rides this weekend.

Yesterday I rode 30 mile with Aaron and today I set out for 40 miles after running some errands for the week first thing this morning. I made it to the farmers market, Trader Joes for our groceries for the week and to CVS for some toilet paper and other essentials. By a little after 10 I was on the road.

I felt pretty sleepy when I started, but got into my groove and actually had a pretty speedy ride. My average pace was 16 MPH which I was super happy with! The 40 miles took 2.5 hours and I was starving when I got home. I whipped up a quick southwest chicken salad and some farmers market strawberries. And a BIG glass of iced tea because it was a very warm ride! In case you were wondering, I’m still starving! I just saw a commercial for cookies and that’s all I can think about now.

One thing I love about cycling is I get a lot of thinking done on on my rides. I don’t listen to my iPod on the bike, so I don’t have Lady Gaga and Kesha distracting me from my thoughts. Today I came up with an invention that I would love to have on my bike!

It would be a camera attached to my helmet, handlebars or sunglasses that was wireless. All you would have to do is look at something and click a button on the bike and viola – a photo! I see all kinds of things on my rides that I wish I could take photos of, but they are often moving, or I am moving and don’t want to stop. Just two of the things I would have snapped shots of today if I had a helmet cam:

– The cutest/creepiest dog riding in a girl’s basket on her bike. It looked like a stuffed animal.
– A rattlesnake in the middle of the bike path. And the two idiots stopped right next to it screaming about it.
– A guy wearing this Laughing Lab jersey.



I want one. It has the cutest picture of a smiling yellow lab. A lot like this one:



Wouldn’t you love to see that?

Now it is time to eat (and maybe drink) away the rest of my day. I am still hungry and also know one glass of wine would knock me on my ass, which might be fun! Happy Sunday friends!

One thought on “Fab Forty

  1. […] Want a reminder of some of the recent rides I have been on? Check these recaps out: Wind Blows Fab Forty Getting my Butt in Gear Partial Course Preview in Napa Reverse Brick A Hilly 55 Miles Halfway There […]

Leave a Reply

