Wind Blows

Literally and figuratively. The weather forecast this morning was sunny and said breezy. We decided we were still going to ride since the rest of the weekend is a little tricky schedule wise. Tomorrow morning I am volunteering at the Girls on the Run 5K.

I am getting there at 6:45 to help in any way possible. So far I think it will be helping coaches out and taking photos at the finish line. I am just so excited to be able to be there. I was the head coach at a school in San Diego last spring and it was the coolest experience ever. I wrote about it here (it was pre-blog). Since we moved my schedule has not allowed me to coach, so I am happy to be able to participate in any way possible. BTW – shout out to my friend Bridgette who I met coaching GOTR and has turned out to be an amazing friend and very loyal blog reader. Hi Bridge!

Okay….back to the RIDE. Aaron’s goal was to hit 60 miles today. I was thinking about doing more than that, but it didn’t happen. It was SO windy! 17 MPH winds gusting at 24 MPH. And it was blowing right at us. I am not going to lie, it blew! 🙂 I kept trying to tell myself it was good hill training because wind acts a lot like a hill. Aaron even said at one point he was using a lighter gear than he has ever used on a hill.



Can you see that grass? It looked like the ocean. I seriously almost blew over three times!

We made it to the 30 mile mark in Winters to turn around and head back home. Luckily we had planned to stop in Davis for lunch. It was nice to sit for a bit and enjoy a tasty sandwich.

We wound up at a place called Fat Face.



I have seen them at the Farmers Market and their breakfast sammies always sound so good. I found they have a “restaurant” and thought it would be a good place to stop. It is actually more like a storage unit that they serve gourmet sandwiches out of. It was the perfect place to stop after 36 miles of riding. We sat on a bench in an alley and drank water out of mason jars.

I had half of a smoked salmon sandwich which included Cold Smoked Salmon, Herbed Cream Cheese, Beets, Onion, Lettuce, Caper Berries. I love that they offer full and half sizes of all their sandwiches. Aaron had Cola Braised Pork, Queso Fresco, Avocado Salsa, Onion, Lettuce. Yum! I ate mine before I could take a pic (oops).

After the sandis, one of their homemade Popsicles sounded too good to pass up (hydration, right?). I had a Kiwi Mango, and Aaron had a Strawberry Lemonade. YUM again!



We finished up the rest of our ride without anything too exciting happening. We both were super tired after! We took the dog to the dog park and then ATE! I made green chili turkey enchiladas and they were amazing.

Look for a recap of the Girls on the Run race tomorrow. It is going to be great! There is also a half marathon going that is attached to the 5K. I may be tempted to crash it, but promise I won’t!

2 thoughts on “Wind Blows

  1. […] the word! Want a reminder of some of the recent rides I have been on? Check these recaps out: Wind Blows Fab Forty Getting my Butt in Gear Partial Course Preview in Napa Reverse Brick A Hilly 55 Miles […]

  2. […] Can’t wait for tomorrow. Hoping the rain holds out and the wind doesn’t blow too hard. I hate riding in the wind! Posted by modernation Filed in Cycling, Races Leave a Comment […]

Leave a Reply

