I Have a Confession

I consider myself pretty good at meal planning and grocery shopping. As you may know, I actually enjoy meal planning and grocery shopping. I don’t even mind going to more than one store to get the best deal or quality.

Today I had a realization that one thing I am not good at is planning for snacks. I find that when I am home on the weekends I get really snacky – probably out of boredom. When I scour the cupboards and fridge I a left with the same old choices – apples, peanut butter filled pretzels or cereal. While those are all great choices, I need variety.

Another challenge is stocking our house with snacks that are healthy, satisfying and please both Aaron and me. It would be easy to have a couple bags of chips on the hand, that wouldn’t be good for our health. Any ideas? What are your go-to snacks to have on hand?

This afternoon I went to the grocery store to try to search for some healthy snacks. I was totally drawing a blank. I picked up some stone ground crackers and decided to make black bean dip because we had most of the ingredients on hand. I threw everything in the food processor and served it warm with the crackers. It was good! Need more ideas like this!

Black Bean Dip
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 small can mild fire roasted green chilis
Juice of half a lime
Handful fresh cilantro
1/2 teaspoon cumin
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon whipped cream cheese
1 tablespoon light sour cream
1/4 cup low fat shredded Mexican blend cheese

This made a good amount of dip and wasn’t expensive, which I liked.

Send over your favorite snack recipes!

4 thoughts on “I Have a Confession

  1. A few of my recent favorites are veggie chips (like potato chips but come in tomato and spinach varieties as well). I limit myself to just a handful but they’re good if you’re craving something salty. I also like dark chocolate covered cranberries for something sweet. String cheese is a stand by, as are cheese and crackers. My dad is big on yogurt and walnuts. I look to you for snack ideas – PB fill pretzels are my new fave – so not sure I can “teach” you anything!

  2. Cara says:

    I’m the same way, we NEVER have snack food in the house! But then again, do I really want bags of chips that I’ll constantly eat around? Double-edged sword…

  3. I’m kind of obsessed with saltines & pb & j…not the healthiest but SO yummy! Frozen grapes are also good…as is popcorn or kettlecorn popped over the stovetop!

Leave a Reply

