Groceries and Meal Plan

Happy Mothers Day to all the mom’s out there. My mom and brother came over and Aaron and I whipped up a tasty brunch of whole wheat french toast, chicken sausage, scrambled eggs with onion, spinach and cheese, and fresh pineapple and strawberries. It was perfect!

Before the fam came over, I ran to the grocery stores (yes, plural) to get the week’s groceries. Here are this week’s eats:



In the bags this week:
Yogurt
Bagels and cream cheese
Frozen chicken breasts
Frozen shrimp
Chicken sausages (already gone they were for brunch)
Goat cheese
Blue cheese slices (a new product I am excited about)
Bananas
Apples
Tomatoes
Frozen ahi tuna
Onion
Zucchini
Red bell pepper
Mixed greens
Spinach
Milk
Cheerios
OJ
Whole wheat pizza dough
Pesto
Tomato basil sauce
String cheese

This week’s dinner line up includes:
– Turkey sliders
– Ravioli with marinara sauce, spinach and chicken
– Seared ahi with roasted tomatoes and rice
– Pesto chicken pizza with goat cheese
– Shrimp Kabobs
– Chicken stir fry

Money Saving Tips
This week’s menu was based around what was on sale this week at the market and meals that require just a few ingredients. When I do my menu planning for the week, I start with what we have on hand. This week we didn’t have much, so my next stop is the sale fliers at the super market. I can find mine online and also spend some time browsing. I look for things that we would normally buy or eat. Just buying things because they are on sale defeats the purpose.

Things I found on sale this week include the frozen chicken breasts, string cheese, yogurt, and Cheerios (I never buy cereal but this was super cheap and thought it would be a good snack).

When thinking about planning a whole week of meals, choose recipes that don’t require a lot of ingredients. Choose ingredients that pack a lot of flavor bang for their buck. The pesto chicken pizza is a great example. All it needs is pizza dough, pesto, 1 chicken breast and a little goat cheese. Pesto and goat cheese are packed with flavor and you only need a little of each. The pesto and goat cheese and then be used in other meals to make them go further. Four ingredients for a super flavorful dinner – not too shabby!

What are some of your money saving tips for grocery shopping? I am always looking for new ideas because it seems like no matter what I do, we still spend a lot on groceries. I guess when you like to eat good, healthy food and cook most of your meals at home $70-$80 for two people isn’t bad. Right? I hope!

Leave a Reply

