Final Long Ride

Today Aaron and I tackled 70 miles as our last long ride before the century ride. My training schedule called for longer rides, but sometime life gets in the way and training plans are just that – plans! No one can plan every day of their life three or four months in advance.


This was the perfect long ride to end on. We both felt confident and strong the entire time and really enjoyed each others’ company and chatted a lot.

Out stats were good, too.
70 miles
4 hours and 50 minutes

Average pace: 13.8 MPH

After the ride, we went to my childhood home with the dog for some pool time and lounging in the sun. I was totally HANGRY, though, so that didn’t last long. We went to our favorite taco stand on the way home and stuffed our faces! Burning 2000 calories over 5 hours will do that to you!

In other news, I think I made a decision on the ride today about the marathon. I do my best thinking on the bike and when I talk through my thoughts with Aaron. Today I combined the two, and came up with a good plan. I am going to shoot for the California International Marathon on December 5th. Leading up to the full marathon, I may do the Lake Tahoe Half Marathon on September 26th. That way I will give myself lots of time to training sufficiently for the full marathon and keep myself motivated with a fun half marathon before the full.

First things, first – time to get my mind and body ready for Sunday’s 100 mile ride! Lots of hydrating, fueling and maybe even some naps. Oh, and I should be getting a new car in the next couple days. Yay!

5 thoughts on “Final Long Ride

  1. Kate says:

    Good work on the ride!

    Also without wanting to dwell on the topic, I felt like many of the “negative” comments just quite honestly expressed people’s frustration with the situation. I’m not expressing a view on the rights or wrongs, but I think there is a tendency in blogland to be over nice, even when it is appropriate or acceptable to correct someone, and I think the majority of commenters struck close to the right balance. Maybe it would have been preferable for them to email Jenna privately, but I think we have to accept the critical comments with the compliments if we blog. That doesn’t mean accepting rudeness or meanness (and some of the comments to Jenna were out of line), but it also doesn’t mean calling any criticism a “slam” or anyone with a contrary view a “troll.”

    • modernation says:

      Kate,
      I totally agree with you that people should be able to comment positive or negative and I don’t expect all comments to be full of sunshine and applause. But, I don’t think it is fair to be “disappointed” or “hurt” or “betrayed” by someone’s decision to do what is right for them. You don’t have to agree with the decision, but judging someone for a decision it isn’t okay, either. It comes down to a do unto others type of mentality. Think about how you would feel before hitting the submit button.

  2. Love that you, Aaron, and Cash went to the backyard and pool together. Did you swim? I assume since Cash is a lab he was itching to get in the water – how did it go?

  3. modernation says:

    Cash is actually not a fan of the water yet. He doesn’t quite get it. It is our goal for the summer to get him to act like a lab.

  4. […] effort and preparation compared to running.   When I started riding, I quickly got used to 50, 70, and 100 mile rides.  Those rides involve lots of prep, packing snacks, mixing sports drinks and a […]

Leave a Reply

