Pre-Century Prep Week

I am getting so excited about the century ride. It has been quite awhile since I have done a race and I miss it so much. I am naturally a competitive person and love a challenge.

As you may know, cycling requires a lot of STUFF. Since we are traveling to Napa for the ride, we have to bring everything with us. Not just the bikes and all their gear, but all our clothes and nutrition needs, too! I am trying to get everything organized so that we don’t forget anything in the last minute hassle and bustle. Here is what is on tap for the week:

Bike Prep
We want to make sure our bikes are in the best working shape they can be – hundreds of training miles takes a toll on a bike. We will be taking our bike to the Sacramento Bike Kitchen early this week for a tune up, rewrapping handle bars and checking the brakes and gears.

Tune Up Rides
After getting the bikes tuned up and cleaned, we will go for a short, 26 mile ride on Wednesday to keep our legs fresh and make sure everything is still in working order. This will give us a couple days to make any last minute tweaks we might need to. We will also go for a really short ride on Saturday to loosen everything up the day before the ride.

Fuel
This week I will be focusing on staying hydrated and properly fueled. I will not be drinking any alcohol until after the race (my last alcoholic beverage was a beer Thursday evening). Not only will it keep me more hydrated this week, it will make the post-ride drinks taste that much better! I will be eating every few hours (like usual) to keep my energy balanced. I will be eating what I normally do – lots of fresh fruits and veggies, whole grains and lean protein, and will do my best to avoid junk.

Body Prep
I am going to take it easy this week and rest up. I will be stretching and rolling out my muscles on the foam roller everyday. Other than that, exercise will include walks with the dog, some core work, softball Wednesday night, and maybe some super light cardio at the gym if I get antsy. Sleep will be key and I am going to try to get as much as possible. Maybe even a nap or two? Naps aren’t my thing, but if I am feeling worn out I might give it a shot.

Mental Prep
Cycling, like any endurance sport, is just as much mental as it is physical. I will be talking myself up all week about how prepared I am for this ride. And how stoked I am! Aaron and I will have lots of support from family and I cannot wait to celebrate with them after! We will all be enjoying a late dinner together at one of my favorite Napa restaurants, Bottega.

I will be re-reading my posts and might even try to add up how many miles I rode for training. That could be a fun number to see. Any guesses?

How do you prep for a big event?

3 thoughts on “Pre-Century Prep Week

  1. Kate says:

    I love the way 26 miles has become short for you šŸ™‚ It’s not “long” for me, but it’s definitely medium.

  2. Great job on being so prepared. I always say I am going to do this kind of prep work for things and it turns out being all last minute (hello, packing for 4 months of study abroad the night before I left). Planning ahead definitely yields better results – good for you!

Leave a Reply

