Training Regrets, Do you Have Them?

First off, a very happy 27th birthday to my bestie, Teresa. Teresa and I have been friends for almost 9 years and we have been through the best of times and the hardest of times. Today we celebrate the good times. Teresa is such a strong, inspiring woman and I am so lucky to be part of her life. I just wish we lived in the same state so we could celebrate together. Love you, T!



Race Day Regret
When race day approaches, do you ever have regrets? I try to live my life without regret, but I feel it is only natural to look back on training and wish you had done more. In preparation for the century ride, I definitely wish I could have gotten in a few longer rides. The longest ride I got in was 70 miles.

But I am not going to give myself a hard time. I rode over 800 miles and I have full confidence in my body and endurance. Having completed a century ride in the past helps my confidence, too.



Sometimes life gets in the way and you have to be willing to be flexible with your training. Listening to your body and taking care of your mental health are more important than any training plan. For example, midway through training I was in a gnarly car accident that threw me for a bit of a loop.

The one thing I do really wish I had done more of during training is yoga and stretching. I am notoriously bad about stretching. It is something I really need to be better at – all the time. I have been trying to stretch in the morning and night this week, but you can’t make up for lost time.

I really can’t wait for Sunday and to accomplish finishing this ride. And I bet all of you can’t wait, either, so you don’t have to hear about the ride anymore. But guess what’s next on the list? A marathon – so get ready to hear all about that starting in a couple months 🙂

Leave a Reply

