Training Plans = Stress

As I have been filling my summer calendar in with races, that means I have also been trying to fill in workouts to train for these events. I must say, it is stressing me out. I already filled in the fall months with a 16-week training plan I snagged from Runner’s World. That was the easy part (although it will be the hardest part when I get to it).

I am trying to figure out how to properly train for the following upcoming races, all within a few months of each other:
June 19th – open water swim (either .6 or 1.2 mile swim)
July 3rd – 10K
August 8th – Olympic Distance Triathlon
September 26th – Half Marathon

I am viewing the open water swim and the 10k as training races for the August tri, but still want to do my best in each event. I am having trouble wrapping my head around juggling multi-sports and entering it all into my Google Calendar is make it even worse. I have some solutions, though.

Instead of putting the cart before the horse and trying to guess and make up a training plan, for the time being I am going to focus on getting in the pool as much as possible. I am also going to try to hit the road for runs whenever possible while working to maintain my fitness on the bike.

Another solution is to do my research. When I am taking on new fitness challenges, I love to read as much on the subject as possible. It gets me excited and gives me ideas on how to maximize my training. I have a whole binder full of marathon training articles and workouts.

One thought on “Training Plans = Stress

  1. Kate says:

    I think with that race combo, the best thing to do would be to do an olympic distance plan, and then just pick up your run mileage/distances from the tri to the half. Since your 10k is so soon, you could swap out some of the early bikes for runs.

Leave a Reply

