I really have to do that 8 times?

This morning I was up an at ’em a little after 7. We decided to put the dog’s crate in our room last night since he has been sleeping in lately.  He usually sleeps in his crate in the guest room and has been sleeping until at least 8 the past few weeks. While he seems to be quiet while in another room, having him right next to the bed is another story. From about 6AM on he kept rearranging himself, flopping against the crate to get comfortable. Not so quiet!

Sorry, Mom. I just wanted to play with my brother!

I was ready to get my day started, though. Yesterday Aaron and I made plans for Sunday brunch, so I wanted to get a run in before we had a buffet brunch complete with bottomless mimosas.  Since the century, I have only been doing power yoga.  I took Monday and Tuesday completely off and then jumped into the 10 Day Yoga Challenge. I felt it was time to start incorporating some cardio. I have a 10K coming up in just over a month, so I need to start doing more running.

I did a total of 5 miles. I started with 3.4 miles on my own, which I completed in 32 minutes. I felt great and really enjoyed getting on the road early.  There was no one out there and I loved the solitude of my run. Quiet Sunday morning run, plus this song was a great way to start my day. As I was getting close to the house, I started thinking about marathon training. I was thinking to myself, “I just ran for 32 minutes. I will need to do that 7 more times before I finish my marathon.”

I have learned that it is best to take things one mile at a time and not look at training as a daunting task. It doesn’t make sense to stress about that really long run or ride 8 weeks down the line. Focus on today’s task, and worry about tomorrow’s the next day.  I remember at the beginning of century training, 20 miles felt like a long ride. Now that is nothing.  I know marathon training will be the same.  Plus, I am used to going for 5, 6, 7, and 8 hour rides. A 3 or 4 hour run will fly by.  Right? 🙂

After I finished my 3.4 solo miles, I swung by the house to grab the dog and we went for a 1.6 mile “wog”.  That’s a walk/jog.  Cash did great on his wog and we both were pooped by the time we got home. All in all it took about an hour, including stopped to get Cash geared up for his run and for lots of potty stops and stopping to sniff the grass.

After all that exercise, I was hungry. I showered and we headed down the street for brunch. Aaron opted for the buffet, but I am more of a menu kind of girl.  I ordered Florentine Benedict which was perfect. Buttery english muffin, steamed spinach, fresh tomato and perfectly poached eggs. Holandaise on the side (I’m not much of a fan) plus fresh fruit. And, of course, Bottomless Mimosas.  Our server was awesome and kept our glasses full, and heavy on the champagne, light on the OJ – just the way we like ’em.

Not sure what the rest of the day has in store.  I want to spend some time in the sun. Maybe a backyard nap? I also have yoga to go to this evening and then tomorrow we will be on the lake, on a boat!

2 thoughts on “I really have to do that 8 times?

  1. I love the term “wog,” so perfectly descriptive. 🙂

    Also, I’m totally going to steal your idea of getting holandaise on the side. I’m not a big fan either and totally avoid all benedicts because of it.

  2. modernation says:

    I was pretty excited when I coined the term while out on the road with Cash. I love benedicts except for when they drown it in holandaise. You might as well just order a bowl of it with a spoon considering the amount restaurants usually put on. Without, benedict is a pretty healthy, well-balanced breakfast.

Leave a Reply

